Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

36th Annual Madison-Dane County King Holiday Observance

January 18 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Due to public health concerns, this year’s event will be virtual. We we promise just as dynamic of a commemoration of Dr. King as always! Instructions to join the event will be posted here in early January.
This year’s observance will feature Eddie S. Glaude, Jr. as keynote speaker. The program will also feature presentation of the MLK Humanitarian Award by Mayor Satya Rhodes-Conway and County Executive Joe Parisi and the MLK Community Choir.
Eddie S. Glaude, Jr. is one of the nation’s most prominent scholars, Glaude is an author, political commentator, public intellectual and passionate educator who examines the complex dynamics of the American experience.
His most recent book Begin Again: James Baldwin’s America and Its Urgent Lessons for our Own, is a New York Times bestseller. He is an American critic in the tradition of James Baldwin and Ralph Waldo Emerson, confronting history and bringing our nation’s complexities, vulnerabilities and hope into full view. Hope that is, in one of his favorite quotes from W.E.B. Dubois, “not hopeless, but a bit hopeful.”
Some like to describe Glaude as the quintessential Morehouse man, having left his home in Moss Point, Mississippi at age 16 to begin studies at the HBCU and alma mater of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. He holds a master’s degree in African American Studies from Temple University and a Ph.D. in Religion from Princeton University.
He is currently the James S. McDonnell Distinguished Professor of African American Studies at Princeton University, where he is also the Chair of the Center for African American Studies and the Chair of the Department of African American Studies. He is the author of the 2020 book Begin Again, about James Baldwin and the history of American politics.
Glaude is known both for his inspiring oratory and ability to convene conversations that engage fellow citizens from all backgrounds — from young activists to corporate audiences looking for a fresh perspective.
Glaude is the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor and Chair of the Department of African American Studies at Princeton. He frequently appears in the media, as a columnist for TIME Magazine and as an MSNBC contributor on programs like Morning Joe and Deadline Whitehouse with Nicolle Wallace. He regularly appears on Meet the Press on Sundays. Glaude also hosts Princeton’s AAS podcast, a conversation around the field of African American Studies and the Black experience in the 21st century.
There is no cost to attend.