Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Medieval Make Believe: The Middle Ages in Popular Culture

June 1 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Please join the Friends of the ICMA for the fourth in a series of special online events on Wednesday, June 1st at 12:00 p.m. ET (9:00 a.m. PT; 5:00 p.m. BST; and 6:00 p.m. CET) with the following panelists, in alphabetical order:•    Wolf Burchard, Associate Curator, European Sculpture and Decorative Arts, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, and curator/author of the recent exhibition and catalogue, “Inspiring Walt Disney, The Animation of French Decorative Arts” (December 10, 2021—March 6, 2022). The exhibition is now on view at the Wallace Collection, London until October 16th.•    Larisa Grollemond, Assistant Curator of Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts, the J. Paul Getty Museum, and co-curator/co-author, with Bryan C. Keene of the upcoming exhibition and catalogue, “The Fantasy of the Middle Ages: An Epic Journey through Imaginary Medieval Worlds” (J. Paul Getty Museum) (June 21—September 11, 2022).•    Bryan C. Keene, Assistant Professor of Riverside City College, co-curator and co-author with Larisa Grollemond, of “The Fantasy of the Middle Ages” (J. Paul Getty Museum, 2022).The panel will be introduced and moderated by Matthew M. Reeve, Associate Professor of Art History at Queen’s University, Kingston, ON and author of Gothic Architecture and Sexuality in the Circle of Horace Walpole (Penn State University Press, 2020).Please feel free to notify colleagues and friends who may not be ICMA members about this event. Register HERE For questions, please contact Doralynn Pines, Chair of the Friends of the ICMA, doralynn.pines@gmail.com.

LEFT: Saint George and the Dragon, Book of Hours, c. 1450. Master of Guillebert de Mets, (Flemish, active about 1410-1450). The J. Paul Getty Museum, Ms. 2 (84.ML.67), fol. 18v. RIGHT: “Sleeping Beauty gallery” from “Inspiring Walt Disney, The Animation of French Decorative Arts” exhibition, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, December 10, 2021–March 6, 2022.