Featured Alumni & Publications

Featured Alumni


Michael Feinberg (Ph.D., 2023; M.A., 2018)
Visiting Assistant Professor of Art History, Hamilton College

Ujaan Ghosh (Ph.D., 2023)
Assistant Professor of History of Art, Ohio State University

Kendra Greendeer (Ph.D., 2023)
Assistant Professor, Art History, Oklahoma State University

Young Kim (Ph.D., 2023)
English-language lecturer, Ewha Womans University, Seoul. Lecturer, Dankook University, Seoul.

Caitlin Lenox (M.A., 2023)
Artifact Cataloging Project Researcher, Wangensteen Historical Library, University of Minnesota
2022 Douglas Schewe Award Winner


Sara Champlin (Ph.D., 2022)
Executive Assistant, Quarra Stone Company, LLC

Amy J. Hughes (Ph.D., 2022)
Assistant Curator, Corning Museum of Glass

Cortney Anderson Kramer (Ph.D., 2022)
Project Manager, Epic


Katie Elizabeth Apsey (Ph.D., 2021)
Associate Director, Institute for Research in the Humanities, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Samantha Comerford (M.A., 2021)
Development Officer, Corporate Engagement, Exploratorium, San Francisco, CA

Jessica A. Cooley (Ph.D., 2021)
ACLS Postdoctoral Associate at the Liberal Arts Engagement Hub, University of Minnesota
2021 Transforming the Discipline Graduate Research Award Winner

Mark Dieter (Ph.D., 2021)

Noah Mapes (B.A., 2021)
Current Ph.D. student at Cornell
Iwanter Prize Winner

Kyungso Min (Ph.D., 2021)
2022 Transforming the Discipline Graduate Research Award Winner

Marguerite E. H. Lenius (M.A., 2010; Ph.D., 2021)
Assistant Professor of African and African Diaspora Art History, Department in the History of Art and Architecture at Middlebury College, Middlebury, VT

Fernanda Villarroel Lamoza (Ph.D., 2021)
Assistant Professor of Africana Visual Culture at Davidson College

Holly Rubalcava (Ph.D., 2021)
Assistant Professor of Art History at Missouri Western State University

Taylor Leigh Scofield (B.A., 2021, double major with Political Science)
Iwanter Prize Honorable Mention

Christy Wahl (Ph.D., 2021; M.A., 2013) Associate Editor, Bloomsbury Art Market, Bloomsbury Academic

Morgan Lemmer Weber (Ph.D., 2021)
Executive Director, World History Association

Lindsay Wells (Ph.D., 2021)
2017 Douglas Schewe Award Winner
2021–23 Ahmanson-Getty Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of California, Los Angeles
2023 Joseph R. Dunlap Memorial Fellowship


Anna Betz (M.A., 2020)
Interim School Manager and Teaching Artist at the Ballet Co. Laboratory, Minneapolis, MN.
Developing an original ballet based on Dante’s Divine Comedy.

Mya Frieze (M.A., 2020; dual-degree program with SLIS)
Associate Course Director of Art History at Full Sail University, Orlando, FL
Content Manager, Different Visions, Medieval Art History Journal


Peter Bovenmyer (Ph.D., 2019)
Project Coordinator, Integrated Art Group, LLC

Sophia Maxine Farmer (Ph.D., 2019, M.A., 2014)
Assistant Professor, Assistant Professor of Art History, Art and Design Department at the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith

Sarah Anne Stolte (Ph.D., 2019)
Lecturer, Art Department, Edgewood College
Lecturer, Department of Art History, University of Wisconsin–Madison


Daniel Cochran (Ph.D., 2018)
Associate Pastor, Hinsdale United Methodist Church
Author of Building the Body of Christ: Christian Art, Identity, and Community in Late Antique Italy (Fortress Academic Press, 2020)

River Encalada Bullock (Ph.D., 2018)
Collections Specialist, Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)


Susan Curtis (Ph.D., 2017)
Author of Sokari Douglas Camp: Sensational Steel

Lex Lancaster (Ph.D., 2017)
Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Humanities and Social Science at The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art

Caitlin Silberman (Ph.D., 2017)
Archives Specialist, Lawrence Livermore National Library

Matthew J. Westerby (Ph.D., 2017)
Digital Resource Officer at the Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts (CASVA), National Gallery of Art.


Marcela Guerrero (Ph.D., 2015; M.A. 2005), DeMartini Family Curator, Whitney Museum of American Art

Berit Ness (M.A., 2015)
Assistant Curator for Academic Initiative at the University of Chicago’s Smart Museum of Art

Sarah Fayen Scarlett (Ph.D., 2015)
Associate Professor of History at Michigan Technological University


Linde Brady Lehtinen (Ph.D., 2014; M.A., 2005)
Curator of Photography, The Huntington Library, Art Museum, and Botanical Gardens

Matthew Francis Rarey (Ph.D., 2014; M.A., 2008) Associate Professor of African and Black Atlantic Art History, Oberlin College
2024 College Art Association’s Charles Rufus Morey Book Award Winner
2020 Association of Art Museum Curators’ Award for Excellence

Beth A. Zinsli (Ph.D., 2014; M.A., 2007)
Curator, Wriston Art Galleries at Lawrence University


Cory Pillen (Ph.D., 2013)
Director of Center of Southwest Studies and Associate Professor of Art History and Gender and Sexuality Studies at Fort Lewis College
Author of WPA Posters in an Aesthetic, Social, and Political Context: A New Deal for Design (Routledge, 2020)


Marsely Kehoe, (Ph.D., 2012; M.A., 2006)
Author of Trade, Globalization, and Dutch Art and Architecture Interrogating Dutchness and the Golden Age (Amsterdam University Press, 2023)

Amy L. Powell (Ph.D., 2012; M.A., 2007)
Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at Krannert Art Museum, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign


Jordi Falgàs (Ph.D., 2011)
Director of the Fundació Rafael Masó in Girona, Spain

Andrea M. Truitt (M.A., 2011)
Community Relations Manager, Summer of the Arts, Iowa City


Lydia Melamed Johnson (B.A., 2010; certificate in European Studies)
Executive Director, AIPAD (The Association of International Photography Art Dealers)
Director, The Photography Show
Board of Visitors, Department of Art History, UW–Madison


Nichole N. Bridges (Ph.D., 2009; M.A., 2002)
Mortan D. May Curator for the Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas at the Saint Louis Art Museum


Antje Gamble (B.A., 2005)
Associate Professor of Modern and Contemporary Art History, Murray State University

Drew Sawyer (B.A., 2005; dual Economics major)
Sondra Gilman Curator of Photography at the Whitney Museum of American Art.
Arts Editor for Document Journal.


Katherine Baker (B.A., 2003)
Associate Professor of Art History, Arkansas State University


Vivien Green Fryd (Ph.D., 1984)
Professor Emerita of History of Art, American and Contemporary Art, Vanderbilt University

Alumni Publications

Matthew Francis Rarey (Ph.D., 2014; M.A. 2008), Winner of the 2024 College Art Association Charles Rufus Morey Book Award
Susan Curtis (Ph.D., 2017)
Katherine Baker (B.A., 2003)
Marsely Kehoe (Ph.D., 2012)
Antje Gamble (B.A., 2005)
Marcela Guerrero (Ph.D. 2015), "No existe un mundo poshuracán" exhibition catalogue.
Robert Cozzolino, (M.A., 2000; Ph.D., 2006) 2022 College Art Association’s Alfred H. Barr, Jr. Award for distinguished museum scholarship.
Sarah Fayen Scarlett (Ph.D., 2015)
Cory Pillen (Ph.D., 2013)
Daniel Cochran (Ph.D., 2018)
Vivien Green Fryd (Ph.D., 1984)
Vivien Green Fryd (Ph.D., 1984)
Vivien Green Fryd (Ph.D. 1984)